The situation remains in a state of flux, with constant amendment of provincial Acts and charters in an attempt to solve old problems and to meet new ones. Just as the call for new and additional services has enlarged the scope of federal and provincial activities, the municipalities have had to assume responsibilities unheard of a few decades ago, or considered beyond their sphere of activity. As a result, amendments to Acts have varied from those enlarging the powers and the boundaries of municipalities, to those establishing closer provincial control and greater financial aid.

An outline of municipal organization at the end of 1953 in each of the provinces of Canada is given in the following paragraphs.*

Newfoundland.—Newfoundland has only one city, St. John's. The remainder of the population is dispersed in small settlements along the coast, and only since 1937 have a few of the larger of these been set up individually as towns with local councils or, where two or three are close together, as rural districts (43 in 1953). These latter are not rural municipalities but merely towns consisting of two or more settlements. Local affairs in the remainder of the Province are administered by the Provincial Government. In 1949, the Local Government Act was passed to facilitate incorporations. There are now thirty towns and two rural districts incorporated under the Act while there are eight local government communities with lesser powers of government.

Prince Edward Island.—The Province has one city, Charlottetown, and seven towns all incorporated by special Acts. They comprise less than one-half of one per cent of the area of the Island and only about a quarter of its population. The Village Service Act, 1951, provides for the incorporation of villages. The remaining area of the Province is not organized municipally, the three counties being provincial administrative units only.

Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the Province. The two cities, Halifax and Sydney, operate under special charters; the latter is also governed by certain special legislation. Forty towns operate under the Town Incorporation Act but there are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of counties. The rural area is divided into 18 counties which, in themselves, do not represent units of local government. However, 12 of these counties each comprise one municipality, and the other six comprise two municipalities each, making a total of 24 rural municipalities.

New Brunswick.—The Province is divided into 15 counties which are incorporated municipalities and have direct powers of local self-government in the rural areas. In effect, therefore, they are rural municipalities. In most cases certain of their powers apply in both rural and urban municipalities. The five cities—Saint John, Fredericton, Moncton, Edmundston and Lancaster—have special charters, and the 19 towns operate under the Towns Incorporation Act. There are three villages and 37 local improvement district areas within the counties but outside the cities, towns and villages; these have been incorporated for the provision of limited municipal services.

Quebec.—Municipal divisions in Quebec embrace the more thickly settled areas comprising about one-third of the Province, the remainder being governed by the Province as 'territories'. The organized area is divided into 76 county

^{*} Municipalities are summarized by type of organization on p. 90.